Awards shortlist revealed

Awards shortlist revealed

Published at 7:52am 5th May 2016. (Updated at 2:45pm 5th May 2016)

Organisers of the Harrogate Hospitality & Tourism Awards have announced the shortlist for each of the nine categories.

Over 900 entries were received for this year's event.

The prizes will be presented at a spectacular gala dinner taking place at the Royal Hall on 20 June.

The awards, now in their eighth year, are organised and hosted by Destination Harrogate, the association of leading hotels in the town. 

David Ritson, Chair of Destination Harrogate, said: "Eight years in to running these awards, it is clear from the number of entries we received again this year that these awards have truly captured the imagination of those working in or affected by hospitality and tourism, and shows what a major industry it is for the town."

The shortlists for each category are:

Waiter/Waitress of the Year - sponsored by Harrogate Spring Water

Lauren Whittaker - The Wild Plum Coffee shop

Francesca Sims - Deano's Graze & Grill

Ben Turner - The Yorkshire Meatball Co

Tony Porneala - William & Victoria

Andrew Pollard - Christian's

Jamie Hopper - Filmore & Union

Bar Person of the Year - sponsored by Matthew Clark

Josh Molloy - Major Tom's Social

Kate Griffin - 10 Devonshire Place

Adam Whiteley - Harrogate Tap

Brandon Chasseur - Royal Baths Champagne Bar

Edi Smith - Montey's Rock Cafe

Chef of the Year - sponsored by Sykes House Farm

Mike Kernall - Michael Kernall Catering

Carlos Sanchez Gonzalez - La Oliva

Dean Sowden - Deano's Graze & Grill

Whaheed Rojan - The Round Table Dining

Bethany Haresign - The Wild Plum

Ronnie Grimshaw - William & Victoria

Team of the Year - sponsored by Platinum Print

Hales Bar

Harrogate Line Supporters Group

Major Tom's Social

The Guy Fawkes Arms

West Park Hotel


Newcomer of the Year - sponsored by Harrogate College

Ewan Ritchie - Fodder




Unsung Hero - sponsored by Bidvest Foodservice

Phil Lowe - Harrogate Theatre

Jessica Richardson - Harrogate Turkish Baths

Alan Huddart - Bilton Working Men's Club

Nick Gilson - Rudding Park Hotel, Spa & Golf

Joanna Maruszewska - Majestic Hotel

Best Achievement of the Year - sponsored by Blueline Taxis

Harrogate International Festivals

Harrogate Line Supporters Group

Harrogate Christmas Market

Anita Bowerman - Dove Tree Studio

Outstanding Customer Service - sponsored by Leeds Bradford International Airport

Simon Hodgson - Yorkshire Hotel

Avram Dragos ‘Dee’ - West Park Hotel

Maria Devaney - Lilou Fleur

Ashley Nichols - William & Victoria

Sue Oliver – Cedar Court Hotel

Harrogate Ambassador - sponsored by Harrogate Chamber of Trade & Commerce

The winner of this special award will be announced on the night.