Lionel Richie: My DestinyiTunesAmazon

Lionel Richie: My DestinyiTunesAmazon

Aegon Ilkley Trophy hailed a "fantastic success"

Men's singles champion Yen-Hsun Lu.

Published at 10:08am 22nd June 2016. (Updated at 10:26pm 22nd June 2016)

It seems there was a lot of love for the second Aegon Ilkley Trophy.

Hundreds of elite players and their coaching teams joined nearly 2,000 young people and thousands more sports fans at Ilkley Lawn Tennis and Squash Club last week.

This year's champions were decided over the weekend.

The tournament is part of the ATP Challenger and ITF Pro Circuit tours, and features players who usually rank in the world top 200.

2016 Aegon Ilkley Trophy champions:

  • Men’s singles: Yen-Hsun Lu (TPE) 7-6 (4) 6-2 v Vincent Millot (FRA) (pictured above).
  • Women’s singles: Evgeniya Rodina (RUS) 6-4 6-4 v Rebecca Sramkova (SVK).
  • Men's doubles: Wesley Koolhof (NED) and Matwe Middelkoop (NED) 7-6 (5) 0-6 10-8 v Marcelo Demoliner (BRA) and Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi (PAK).
  • Women's doubles: Zhaoxuan Yang (CHN) and Kai-Lin Zhang (CHN) 6-3 7-6 (5) v An-Sophie Mestach (BEL) and Storm Sanders (AUS).

Women's singles champion Evgeniya Rodina.

Women's singles winner Evgeniya Rodina

Following his win, Lu has moved eight places up the international rankings to number 70 in the world, whilst Rodina jumps 19 places to number 102. 

Stephen Hepplewhite, Chairman of Ilkley Lawn Tennis and Squash Club, said: "I would like to thank all those who joined us over the last week for making the Aegon Ilkley Trophy such a fantastic success.

"It's a credit to the management team and staff, the numerous committee members and the 150 volunteers to host so professionally a major international event; a competition where everyone who walks through the gates or onto the courts can enjoy a proper Yorkshire welcome in the superb surroundings of our newly improved facilities off and on court."

The 2017 Aegon Ilkley Trophy will take place from 19 to 25 June, with prize money being more than doubled to $225,000.

Men's doubles champions, Koolhof & Middelkoop#2

Men's doubles winners Wesley Koolhof and Matwe Middelkoop

Women's doubles champions, Zhaoxuan Yang & Kai-Lin Zhang.

Women's doubles winners Zhaoxuan Yang and Kai-Lin Zhang 

All photos courtesy of Karen Ross Photography