: Waiting for next track...

: Waiting for next track...

Tour de Yorkshire timings announced

Tour de Yorkshire timings announced

Published at 1:52pm 19th March 2016. (Updated at 2:46pm 25th April 2016)

The start and finish times for this year's Tour de Yorkshire have been revealed, along with the ceremonial start routes.

Millions of spectators are expected to line the route of the three-day men's race and one-day women's race from Friday 29 April until Sunday 1 May.

Stage 1 will start at 11.50am in the Saturday Market square in Beverley on Friday.

The riders will head out towards the railway station via Toll Gavel and past County Hall on Cross Street.

Then it's on to Armstrong Way and past Flemingate Shopping Centre, before heading towards Beverley Minster.

Riders will then head out of the town on Lairgate, passing St Mary's Church, before heading towards the racecourse and the official start line.

Key points along the route include the first sprint point at Bubwith at 1.06pm, then Tadcaster at 1.50pm, Knaresborough at 2.22pm, then the first King of the Mountain point at Greenhow Hill at 3.02pm.

From there, riders will visit Grassington at 3.20pm and cross the finish line at Settle for the first time at 4.06pm, before completing a circuit through Giggleswick and the stage finale at Settle at 4.26pm.

Saturday's Stage 2 marks an important milestone for the Tour de Yorkshire, as spectators will be treated to two hugely significant races.

The Women's Tour de Yorkshire will get under way in Otley, which is the home of world champion Lizzie Armitstead.

Starting from Boroughgate at 8.15am, the teams will ride up Westgate, before turning left onto West Chevin Road and Burras Lane.

They will then head back towards town, passing All Saints Parish Church, before travelling down Bondgate and Crossgate.

Then it's on to Nelson Street, before heading towards Pool Road, where the racing will start in earnest.

Riders will find an early Queen of the Mountain point at Harewood Bank, near Harewood House, which saw the Royal Family officially start the Tour de France's Grand Départ in 2014.

From Harewood, it's on to East Rigton at 8.56am, Pontefract at 10.02am and a climb at Conisbrough Castle at 11.03am, before crossing the finish line in Doncaster at 11.59am.

The men's race will tackle exactly the same stage from Otley to Doncaster in the afternoon.

Sprint and King of the Mountain points are also the same.

The men's peloton will start in Otley at 2.20pm, before reaching Harewood Bank at 2.44pm, Conisbrough Castle at 4.37pm and a finish in Doncaster at 5.23pm.

Stage 3 will begin in Middlesbrough at 11.10am on Sunday.

From the start point at Centre Square and mima (Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art), the riders will head past the Gazette newspaper building on Borough Road, before heading into Teesside University's new Campus Heart.

They will then head down Linthorpe Road to the Cenotaph and through Albert Park, before heading up Marton Road and past the new Middlesbrough Sports Village.

A quick detour will see them ride through Stewart Park and past the birthplace of Captain Cook, before heading through Marton to the official race start on the A172 to the south of Nunthorpe.

Those who raced in 2015 will find some of the stage familiar from Stage One of the inaugural race.

Route planners have included six King of the Mountain points on this stage alone, promising a thrilling race down to the finish line in Scarborough.

Key points along the route include a sprint at Thirsk at 12.51pm, the first King of the Mountain at Sutton Bank at 1.06pm, Blakey Ridge at 1.54pm, Grosmont at 2.46pm, a sprint at Whitby at 3.06pm, and three further King of the Mountain points at Robin Hood's Bay at 3.23pm, Harwood Dale at 3.44pm and Oliver's Mount at 4.16pm, before crossing the line in Scarborough at 4.25pm.

You can see the full schedule at letour.yorkshire.com/timings